The project panel provides various information about the project and allows user to change the project configuration.
The panel includes:
Project name and controls to change it
By selecting this, the project will be accessible in read-only mode to everybody registered in the platform. Make sure the project has no sensitive or confidential data.
Disable Data Caching on client
If the project data is extremely sensitive, you may disable caching the data in the web browsers. It will result in a noticeably increased start time.
Choosing a project data horizon allows you to set a rolling time period (1 Day, 1 Week, 1 Month, or 1 Year) for which to retain data. As new data is added to the project, data older than the selected time period will be deleted.
All data will be encrypted when stored. There could be a small increase in loading time.
Project settings and configurations can be imported or exported to projects.
Delete timelines: By selecting delete timelines, event-related data will be deleted. This means the uploaded data will be deleted. Deleting timelines will wipe out all of the event-related data you’ve loaded, but preserve any configurations or project metadata you may have configured (saved sets, icons, file mappings, queries etc.).
Delete all data: By selecting delete all data, all data within the project will be deleted. This means saved data mappings, icons, sets, filters, and histories will be deleted. Deleting All data will wipe the entire project clean including metadata and set the project back to a blank slate.
Section for Sharing – Project Users
A project may have any number of users and a user could be a part of multiple projects.
User’s rights in a project could be one of the following:
- Viewer – can only view data. Can’t save sets, can’t save queries, can’t create or remove tags.
- User – can view the data and save sets, queries, tags.
- Data manager – can view the data AND upload new data
- Admin – can view the data AND upload new data AND add/remove other users and change their rights (except for Owner)
- Owner – a person who created the project. There’s only one owner for a project at a time. The ownership could be transferred to another user. An owner has all rights of Admin.
One the current owner could see item Owner in the drop-down list. If he sets this value to another user, the panel comes up “Are you sure you want to transfer the ownership to another user? You won’t be able to take it back. Yes/No”. If user says Yes, he becomes Admin and another user becomes Owner.
Any admin or owner could make another user an admin or remove the admin right from him, except for the Owner. An admin changes the rights of other users by clicking on the drop-down lists in the user grid.
Admin could also add create another user to the project by typing his email and clicking Enter. In such case: New user is created with rights “User”.
If the user already has an account in Timeline, they simple get an email notification about access to a new project.
If the user doesn’t have an account, then a new account is created in Recovery status, then sends the user an email with the temporary password – exactly the same process as when the user recovers the forgotten password – see User Management document.
This is a person who has access to Upload panel and can upload new data.
Section for Project Data Sources
Section for Data Uploads
All uploads to a project can be seen and deleted uploads are documented.